Nigeria Adds South Africa to COVID-19 ‘Red List’

The federal government has added South Africa to its “red list” of countries for which there are stringent restrictions for arriving passengers, Dr Chikwe Ihekweazu, the head of the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control, said during a briefing on Monday.

The restrictions are due to the spread of the Delta variant in South Africa, joining India, Brazil and Turkey on the list

Non-Nigerian passport holders and non-residents who visited the countries on the list within 14 days are barred entry from Nigeria, while passport holders and residents must undergo a seven-day quarantine in a government-approved facility at a cost to the passenger, he said.

They are also required to take COVID-19 tests within 24 hours or arrival and after seven days in quarantine.

“In Nigeria, we haven’t found the Delta variant yet,” Ihekweazu said.

Executive Secretary, National Primary Health Care Development Agency, Dr Faisal Shuaib, said Nigeria is expecting an additional 3.924 million doses of the Oxford/AstraZeneca vaccine from the COVAX scheme by August 2021, and 29.85 million doses of the Johnson & Johnson vaccine through the African Union by September.

Nigeria received 3.92 million doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine via COVAX in March, and has thus far administered 3.44 million shots.

FRCN Abuja

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Nnamdi Kanu Rearrested, Brought Back To Nigeria

Pres Buhari Seeks Approval for N894bn Supplementary Budget