in ,

SDP Wins Senate Seat In APC National Chairman’s District

The All Progressives Congress has lost the Nasarawa western zone senatorial seat to the candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Ahmed Wadada, in the National Assembly elections held on Saturday.

APC National Chairman hails from the zone and was representing the area until his election as the party’s leader.  The APC candidate, Shehu Tukur, was not listed by INEC to contest for a seat in the red chambers due to a legal tussle.

The INEC returning agent for Nasarawa West Senatorial District, Prof Nasiruddeen Baba while declaring the winner at the zonal collation centre in Keffi said the SDP candidate polled 96,488 votes while APC got 47,717 votes, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) 46,820 and the Labour Party (LP) 33,228.

The APC also lost the Keffi/Kokona/Karu seat to the Social Democratic Party with Gaza Gwefwi retaining the seat.

The SDP polled 60,265 votes, the APC 28,417 votes, LP 29655 and the PDP 33,180 for the house of representatives elections.

Similarly, the Candidate of the SDP for Nasarawa North Senatorial district, Godiya Akwashiki won the seat and Abubakar Dahiru retained his seat for Lafia/Obi federal constituency.

The SDP, as declared by the electoral body has two senators out of the three and two members of the House of Representatives.

The four winners under the SDP are members of the APC who defected due to irregularities in the party’s primary elections last year.

What do you think?

Written by Ibrahim Aminu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Nasarawa North Result/ Sen. Godiya Akwashiki of The SDP returned elected

The collation of Results From The Presidential Election in Nasarawa State Has Concluded