US Adds Nigeria To Blacklist On Religious Freedom

NEW YORK, NY - SEPTEMBER 26: U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo speaks during a press conference on the sidelines of the United Nations General Assembly on September 26, 2019 in New York City. The Trump administration is under fire for a recent whistleblower complaint based on President Trump pressuring Ukraine President Volodymyr Zelensky to investigate leading Democrats as a favor to him during a recent phone conversation. (Photo by Drew Angerer/Getty Images)

The United States government on has added Nigeria to a religious freedom blacklist. 

Addition of Nigeria to the list for the first time, paves way for potential sanctions if there is no improvement on the record. 

Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said the United States designated Nigeria which is a US ally as a “Country of Particular Concern” under the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 for religious freedom, for engaging ”systematic, ongoing, egregious violations of religious freedom.”

Pompeo tweeted; 

Today the U.S. designates Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, Nigeria, the DPRK, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan as countries of concern under the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 for engaging systematic, ongoing, egregious religious freedom violations.

The U.S. is unwavering in its commitment to religious freedom. No country or entity should be allowed to persecute people with impunity because of their beliefs. These annual designations show that when religious freedom is attacked, we will act.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

FG Reduces Fuel Price To N162.44 Per Litre

Nasarawa State Gov Inaugurates Three Hundred Seater Entertainment Theater